For your ear’s pleasure: japanesepod101.com

The useless background narrative

I’m 3 years late, but here it is…

There are indeed chance meetings that are just wonderful. Meetings which upon reflection would make you think, “I couldn’t imagine how things would work out without it!”. A perfect example is when I was hotspotting in Puskom UGM with Karnan and met Adit there. Adit is a fellow Ilkomer, and I had chatted with him through IM about studying kanji. I had told him that I want to copy his study materials some time.

And what a time indeed! After copying the kanji-related files, I was shown quite a lot of mp3s on his Nihongo folder. Not anime soundtracks or jpop whatnots, mind you, but Japanese language lessons! Adit said that you can turn it on and enjoy it while having your Morning Coffee. (or was it another drink?)

My focus was, and probably still, on reading. Therefore I thought some audio learning materials would be a great boon to enhance one of my weakest Japanese skills, listening. I happily copied it.

Most of them were japanesepod101.com podcasts and some nihongojuku. I listened to some of them, and indeed thought it was very great. However, in the end I didn’t have enough yaruki to do a full-fledged and regular listening of it. Probably because a lot of the episodes are missing. I like to study a certain thing thoroughly, from back to back, so those podcasts look like a book with lots of torn and missing pages. Not very appetizing.

Until one day I stayed at a relative’s house in Jakarta with ultra-blazing Internet connection. I wisely utilized it to download jpod101’s audio files (nihongojuku was dead). Collecting all the links and feeding it to Flashget took me well beyond midnight.

The first episode was in 2005. So yes, I was years late and was faced with a 4 GiB pile of digitalized sinusoidal waves. But no worry! They release like 1 episode per day, so one can definitely catch up just by listening to 31 podcasts a month.

About the podcast itself

The essence is simple: The free podcast teaches you Japanese using English. The teachers are Peter-san who is a native English speaker and at least a native Japanese speaker. After a short intro, you will be given a short dialog, then that dialog again in slo-mo, and finally the dialog with the English translation inserted in-between. Vocabulary is given after that dialog parade. Then finally the grammar points.

What’s so captivating about it? Probably because Peter-san is such a skillful and mesmerizing teacher. He gives lots of insights, interesting anecdotes, and Peter-style jokes in the explanation. Or maybe it’s because of the many nihonjin casts with their unique personality. From Yoshi the cool guy to Takase the tough girl. Or is it because the stories are genuinely interesting and most of the time hilarious?

No matter what your level is, if you’re learning Japanese then you should try to tune in to japanesepod101.com. They have a fine gradation of level ranging from newbie to upper intermediate. For those interested in the Japanese culture, they also have weekly Japanese Culture Class podcasts with topics from superstitions to marriage. Advanced students can even enjoy Miki-sama‘s full-Japanese audio blog. (the link points to the wrong person, but their nickname are actually same) And if that isn’t enough to assure you, they even have 1 lesson with Morning Musume as the topic!

Currently I try to listen to 2 podcasts per day. I’ve covered 300+ lessons so now my ears can even differentiate the voices of Yoshi, Jun, Natsuko, Sakura, Hatsumi, Naomi, Takase, Chigusa, and others. I’m quite surprised that I found lots of new words even in the Survival and Newbie series because I was well beyond my 3rd year of studying Japanese.

It certainly increased my listening comprehension significantly. Probably my speaking skill too, because I often repeated after the dialogs. At any rate, I’m looking forward for the day I can catch up with the latest episodes.

Closing words

I probably should send Adit a DVD as my gratitude. Oh, and anyway, upon leaving Puskom that day I carelessly left my student card and had to travel all the way from Milan

And lastly, are you a japanesepod101 listener too?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “For your ear’s pleasure: japanesepod101.com”

  1. sangprabo Says:

    nihonjin

    A little typo ?
    s/nihongo/japanese

  2. Agro Rachmatullah Says:

    @sangprabo

    Yes, a hidden typo :)!!! Text corrected. Thanks a lot!

    PS: Something big will happen soon. Just you wait ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. ่žใใ‚Œใ‚“ใ—ใ‚…ใ† « ๅ…‰ใฎๅฃฐ Says:

    […] JapanesePod101.com ใ‹ใ‚‰ใฎใ‚ขใ‚คใƒใƒƒใƒˆใฎใ‚นใ‚ญใƒƒใƒˆใงใ™ใ€‚ใ‚ใฎใƒ–ใƒญใƒผใ‚ฐใ‹ใ‚‰็Ÿฅใฃใฆใ„ใŸใ€‚ใจใฆใ‚‚ไพฟๅˆฉใงใ‚ใพใ‚Š้›ฃใ—ใใชใ„ใงใ™ใ‹ใ‚‰ใ€ใ†ใ‚Œใ—ใ‹ใฃใŸ […]

  4. TrainyBrainy » Blog Archive » Posts about Cool Learning Materials as of January 22, 2009 Says:

    […] learning. They offer free daily podcasts on various difficulty levels and complementary learning For your earโ€™s pleasure:ย japanesepod101.com – agro1986.wordpress.com 04/30/2008 The useless background narrative Iโ€™m 3 years late, but here […]

  5. agus Says:

    tolong buatin dialog bahasa inggris tentang pleasure donk??

Leave a Reply

